Fosler-Lussier and Liang named IEEE Fellows

Posted: December 17, 2021

Two College of Engineering faculty members have joined the distinguished ranks of Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellows.

Computer Science and Engineering Professor Eric Fosler-Lussier and Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Yingbin Liang were honored with elevation to IEEE Fellow. Fosler-Lussier is recognized for contributions to spoken language technology by integrating linguistic models with machine learning, while Liang receives commendation for contributions to information theoretic methods for wireless systems.

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation. More than 30 active Ohio State engineering faculty members are IEEE Fellows, including Dean Ayanna Howard and President Kristina M. Johnson.

Eric Fosler-Lussier

With courtesy appointments in Linguistics and Biomedical Informatics, Fosler-Lussier's research lab has conducted work in robust speech recognition, natural language understanding for dialogue systems, clinical text processing and natural language processing. In 2006 he earned a National Science Foundation CAREER award, and in 2010 he was presented with a College of Engineering Lumley Research Award. He is also the recipient – with co-author Jeremy Morris – of the 2010 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award.

Fosler-Lussier is a Fellow of the International Speech Communication Association and a member of the Association for Computational Linguistics. He serves as an associate editor for the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing, and is serving his third term on the IEEE Speech and Language Processing Technical Committee, most recently as past chair.

Liang’s research spans over multiple disciplines, including statistical signal processing, machine learning, large-scale optimization, information theory, and wireless communications and networks.

In 2009, she received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and the State of Hawaii Governor’s Innovation Award in 2009. Her research earned the European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP) Best Paper Award in 2014. She served as an associate editor on Shannon theory for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory journal from 2013 to 2015.

In 2020, Dean Ayanna Howard and Professors Ramteen Sioshansi, Jin Wang, Xiaorui Wang and Dong Xuan were honored with elevation to IEEE Fellow.

The IEEE is the world’s leading professional association for advancing technology for humanity. Through its more than 400,000 members in 160 countries, the association is a leading authority on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics.

Faculty Profile